Health Level Seven Clinical Document Architecture

Health Level Seven Clinical Document Architecture

« Back to Glossary Index
Visit Us
Follow Me

Health Level Seven Clinical Document Architecture (HL7 CDA) is a standard for the structure and semantics of clinical documents for the purpose of exchange between healthcare providers. It’s part of the Health Level Seven International (HL7) standards, which are widely used in the healthcare industry to support the sharing, integration, and retrieval of electronic health information.

CDA is an XML-based markup standard intended to specify the encoding, structure, and semantics of clinical documents for exchange. It is designed to allow clinicians to author documents at the point of care and to have them easily readable by other humans, easily transferable between computer systems and easily mapped to coded vocabularies.

A CDA document is comprised of a header and a body. The header contains information about the patient, the author of the clinical document, and other related data. The body of the document contains the clinical information and can be either structured (divided into sections with coded entries) or unstructured (narrative text).

One of the key features of CDA is that it promotes the use of standard-based vocabularies such as SNOMED CT and LOINC for coding clinical data. This helps ensure the consistency and interoperability of health information across different health systems and providers.

CDA is increasingly used in electronic health records, health information exchange networks, and other digital health technologies to facilitate the exchange of clinical information. As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, the use of standards like HL7 CDA is crucial in modern healthcare to ensure the seamless, secure, and accurate exchange of patient information.

You may also like...